Not long to go now!!

palmer-mandy
“Passion”

wai0005_exhibition_a4_poster_2017WAI17 is quickly coming around, only 3 weeks now until opening night. It’s taken me a wee bit to get out of holiday mode this month, but starting to get into the swing of things again now. There is so much that goes on behind the scenes organising this type of group exhibition, that sometimes the organising can get in the way of the creating. Thankfully though all seems to be coming together, the Waikuku Artists Inc is a pretty well oiled machine these days, with all of the group working together to make the show a success.

This is the 13th WAI exhibition, and the 7th one that I have been involved with! WAI11 was actually my first EVER exhibition, and I still remember how extremely nerve wracking it was. I still get a lot of nerves in the lead up to each shows opening, but am slightly more confident than what I was back in 2011. I would never have guessed back then that I would go on to become the chairperson of the group and I have certainly learnt a lot over the last few years, and hugely appreciate all that the WAI has given me 🙂

I am really looking forward to seeing everyone’s art on show, this year we have 20 WAI artists exhibiting alongside our guest artist Svetlana Orinko. The opening night is always a fantastic event that is well supported by our local community, with great music, food, drinks and fabulous art.

3 weeks and counting……:)

 

Leave a Reply

